The next local government election is being held this year - in October.

This is an opportunity to stand for Southland District Council or one of its community boards. As a councillor or board member, you can help shape our District into a better Southland and make a difference in our communities. Council is waiting on the final outcome of the representation review but we are anticipating there will be nine community boards covering the whole of the district.

You can stand for Southland District or one of the community boards if you are a New Zealand citizen, aged over 18 and enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll. Help us shape the future of our district by standing as a candidate. Nominations will open from 19 July 2019.

In order to vote in the elections, you must first be enrolled. If you have moved since October 2016 make sure you are enrolled at your new address. You can do this by visiting the electoral commission on www.elections.org.nz (external link) or ring 0800 36 76 56

Dates you need to know

2 March to 30 April Ratepayer enrolment
19 July Nominations open for Council and community boards
16 August Nominations close at 12 noon
21 August Public notice of election day and candidates’ names
20 to 25 September Delivery of voting papers
20 September to 12 October Postal voting, special votes accepted
12 October Close of voting at 12 noon, progress and preliminary results available as soon as possible
17 to 23 October Public notice of results