Executive Leadership Team

Council's executive leadership team is led by the Chief Executive and consists of seven group managers, and the executive assistant. Each group manager is responsible for particular departments within Council.


Chief Executive

Steve Ruru


Chief Executive Support

Liz Williams


Group Manager Services & Assets

Matt Russell

Responsible for community engineers, water and waste, roading, council property, forestry, Stewart Island power and Te Anau Airport Manapouri.


Group Manager Environmental Services

Bruce Halligan

Responsible for building control, environmental health, alcohol licensing, resource management, animal control, rural fire and civil defence.


Group Manager Community & Futures

Rex Capil

Responsible for communications, engagement, governance, community partnership leaders and strategy and policy.


People & Capability Manager

Janet Ellis

Responsible for human resources and health and safety.


Chief Financial Officer

Anne Robson

Responsible for rates and Council finances. 


Group Manager Customer Delivery

Trudie Hurst

Responsible for customer support, library staff, IT, knowledge management, mapping and risk management.