Current Council

The Southland District Council is made up of a Mayor and 12 Councillors and has 9 Community Boards.

The Mayor is voted in “at large” and the Councillors are voted in by Ward. Each of the Wards have Community Boards.

Each Community Board has a Ward Councillor appointed to it by Council.

Southland District Mayor 

Rob Scott

Councillor Rob Scott


Robin.Scott@southlanddc.govt.nz

021 609 567

 

Mayoral Support - Dianne Williams

dianne.williams@southlanddc.govt.nz

0800 732 732 ext 3258
027 514 0325

 

Southland District Councillors (by Ward)

 

Mararoa Waimea Ward (three Councillors)

Sarah Greaney

Sarah.Greaney@southlanddc.govt.nz

027 222 6634

 

Tom O'Brien

tom.obrien@southlanddc.govt.nz

027 406 7334

 

Matt Wilson 

Matt.Wilson@southlanddc.govt.nz

027 817 0033

 

Waiau Aparima Ward (three Councillors)

Don Byars 

Don Byers

027 488 8858
Don.Byars@southlanddc.govt.nz

 

Jaspreet Boparai

Jaspreet.Boparai@southlanddc.govt.nz

027 287 0978

 

Derek Chamberlain

Derek.Chamberlain@southlanddc.govt.nz

027 487 2199

 

Oreti Ward (three Councillors)

Darren Frazer

Cr Darren Frazer

021 415 840 
Darren.frazer@southlanddc.govt.nz 

Christine Menzies (Deputy Mayor)

Councillor Christine Menzies

027 950 2760 
Christine.Menzies@southlanddc.govt.nz 

Margie Ruddenklau

Councillor Margie Ruddenklau

03 236 9599, 027 2667421
Margaret.Ruddenklau@southlanddc.govt.nz 

 

Waihopai Toetoe Ward (two Councillors)

Paul Duffy

Cr Paul Duffy portrait

03 206 6491, 027 288 5865 
paul.duffy@southlanddc.govt.nz 

Julie Keast

Cr Juie Keast

03 2468 410, 027 220 6404  
julie.keast@southlanddc.govt.nz 

 

Stewart Island/Rakiura Ward (one Councillor)

Jon Spraggon 

Jon.Spraggon@southlanddc.govt.nz

 

Community Boards

 

Mararoa Waimea Ward

Ardlussa Community Board

  • Richard Clarkson
  • Ray Dickson
  • Chris Dillon
  • Clarke Horrell
  • Hilary Kelso

Councillor Appointee - Matt Wilson

A by-election to fill the remaining vacancy will be held after the triennial elections have been finalised.

Fiordland Community Board

  • Julie Burgess
  • Diane Holmes
  • Marilyn Hunter
  • Kate Norris
  • Nick Robertson
  • Luke Thomas

Councillor Appointee - Sarah Greaney

Northern Community Board

  • Greg Tither
  • Lance Hellewell
  • Carolyn Smith
  • Pam Naylor
  • Sonya Taylor

Councillor Appointee - Tom O'Brien

A by-election to fill the remaining vacancy will be held after the triennial elections have been finalised.

 

Oreti Ward

Oreti Community Board

  • Katie Allan
  • Dave Diack
  • Philip Dobson
  • Chris Herud
  • Tracy Kennedy
  • Karen Maw
  • Colin Smith

Councillor Appointee - Darren Frazer

 

Stewart Island/Rakiura Ward

Stewart Island/Rakiura Community Board

  • Aaron Conner
  • Rakiura Herzhoff
  • Aaron Joy
  • Daniel Meads

A by-election to fill the remaining vacancies will be held after the triennial elections have been finalised.

Councillor Appointee - Jon Spraggon 

Waiau Aparima Ward

Tuatapere Te Waewae Community Board

  • Blayne De Vries
  • Wayne Edgerton
  • Anne Horrell
  • Paula McKenzie
  • Marilyn Parris
  • Jo Sanford

Councillor Appointee - Derek Chamberlain

Wallace Takitimu Community Board

  • Colin Lawry
  • Edwin Mabonga
  • Bridget Mason
  • Tony Philpott
  • Gretchen Wilson
  • Lester Wilson

Councillor Appointee - Jaspreet Boparai

Oraka Aparima Community Board

  • Alby Buchanan
  • Emma Gould
  • Troy Holiday
  • Neil Linscott
  • Eve Welch
  • Michael Weusten

Councillor Appointee - Don Byars

 

Waihopai Toetoe Ward

Waihopai Toetoe Community Board

  • Emily Butters
  • Denise Fodie
  • Fiona McCabe
  • John McIntyre
  • George Stevenson
  • Andrea Straith
  • Pam Yorke

Councillor Appointee - Julie Keast