How is Council made up?


Southland District has a mayor and 12 ward councillors elected from five wards:

  • Mararoa Waimea (3 councillors)
  • Waiau Aparima (3 councillors)
  • Oreti (3 councillors)
  • Waihopai Toetoe (2 councillors)
  • Stewart Island/Rakiura (1 councillor)

map of the Southland District wards

A ward is a defined area of the District that has been divided for electoral purposes. The ward system allows for the recognition of communities, and increased community involvement in local government.

There are also nine community boards. Council actively promotes local input into decision-making through its nine community boards. Community board members have a strong relationship with people and organisations in their communities, attend events and act as a local liaison between their community and Council. The nine community boards are:

In the Mararoa Waimea ward:

  • Fiordland
  • Northern (3 subdivisions: Parawa-Fairlight, West Dome, Mid Dome)
  • Ardlussa

In the Waiau Aparima ward:

  • Tuatapere Te Waewae
  • Oraka Aparima
  • Wallace Takitimu

In the Oreti ward:

  • Oreti (3 subdivisions: Hokonui, Midlands, Makarewa)

In the Waihopai Toetoe ward:

  • Waihopai Toetoe

In the Stewart Island/Rakiura ward:

  • Stewart Island/Rakiura

Click here to find out the townships in each community board area.

map of the Southland District community boards

Click here to find out the townships in each community board area.