Media release: Nominations slow for Southland District Council by-elections

News item information


With less than one week to go nominations are slow to come in for the Southland District Council by-elections.

Nominations close on Monday for the Ardlussa Community Board (one vacancy), the Oraka Aparima Community Board (three vacancies), the Waihopai Toetoe Community Board (two vacancies) and the Makarewa Subdivision of the Oreti Community Board (two vacancies).

Candidates have until 12 noon on Monday 23 December 2019 to get their nominations in. However, they are encouraged to do it as soon as possible to ensure information can be checked and their nomination accepted as valid.

By midday today (Monday 16 December) only one nomination has been received for the Ardlussa Community Board.

The need for the by-elections arose following the lack of nominations received at the recent local authority triennial elections. As there are extraordinary vacancies occurring, by-elections are now being held to fill these vacancies.

To be eligible for nomination, a candidate must be enrolled as a Parliamentary elector and a New Zealand citizen.

Nomination papers are available by phoning 0800 922 822, online at or during normal business hours from:

  • Council’s Principal Offices, 15 Forth Street, Invercargill;
  • Lumsden Area Office, 18 Diana Street, Lumsden;
  • Riverton Area Office, 117 Palmerston Street, Riverton;
  • Winton Area Office, Winton RSA Hall, 186 Great North Road, Winton;

Nominations must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official no later than 12 noon on Monday 23 December 2019 at any of the above-mentioned council offices.

Should there be more than one candidate for the Ardlussa Community Board, more than three candidates for the Oraka Aparima Community Board, more than two candidates for the Waihopai Toetoe Community Board or more than two candidates for the Makarewa Subdivision of the Oreti Community Board, voting documents will be mailed to electors from Monday 27 January 2020, for return by 12 noon on Tuesday 18 February 2020. Preliminary results will be available that afternoon.

← Back to the news