COVID-19 update

Burials and cremations are able to continue, according to central government guidelines, and these will be arranged by funeral directors, who liaise directly with our staff.

Up to fifty people are allowed at burials. Please liaise with the funeral director who will be able to provide the appropriate information.

Southland District Council managed cemeteries are open. Please note there are several trust-managed cemeteries in the district and Council has no control over them.

During Alert Level 2, no exclusive right of burial sites can be bought as Council needs to ensure there is enough prepared beam space.

Cemeteries in the Southland District are either looked after by Council or a trust, or in the case of a few small burial grounds, by different groups.

If you are looking for information on a specific grave, please go to the cemetery search

Other cemetery information held by Council includes all known information on:

  • Historic burial sites
  • some "lonely graves" on private land
  • closed or disused cemeteries, such as at Clifden, Horseshoe Bay, Tararua Acre and Mokoreta
  • Maori burial grounds
  • miscellaneous information discovered on Council files or made available by genealogists and members of the public.

For enquiries regarding Council administered cemeteries, please contact the following district offices:


Cemeteries administered


Calcium, Centre Hill, Edendale, Otautau, Wairio, Wreys Bush, Wyndham


Dipton, East Winton, Winton, Woodlands

Te Anau

Lumsden, Lynwood


Halfmoon Bay, Riverton, Wallacetown

For enquiries regarding trust administered cemeteries, please contact the following cemetery trusts:

Athol Cemetery Trust
C/- Richard Soper, PO Box 18,  Athol 9749

Balfour Cemetery Trust
C/- Lynda Hodge, 60 Maria Street, Lumsden 9730

Eastern Bush Cemetery Trust
C/- Jacqueline Legg, 10 Township Road, RD 2, Otautau 9682

Forest Hill Cemetery Trust
C/- Audrey Hogg, PO Box 75, Winton 9741

Fortrose Cemetery Trust
C/- Philip Golden, 270 Middleton Road, Waimahaka 9875

Garston Cemetery Trust
C/- Bill Gordon, PO Box 11, Garston 9750

Orepuki Cemetery Trust
C/- Frank Ramsay, 37 Fryer Road, RD 1, Riverton 9881, 027 365 4591

Quarry Hills Cemetery Trust
C/- B L Buckingham, 747 Niagara Tokanui Highway, RD 1, Tokanui 9884

Riversdale Cemetery Trust
C/- Mrs S J Welsh, PO Box 90, Riversdale 9744

Tuatapere Cemetery Trust
C/- L E Kollat, 149 Clifden Highway, RD 1, Tuatapere 9691

Waikaia Cemetery Trust
C/- Ross Sage, PO Box 8, Waikaia 9745

Waikawa Cemetery Trust

C/- M E Yorke, 270 Gourley Road, RD 1, Tokanui 9884

The below table list all cemeteries under the control of the Southland District Council and their addresses. 




(Isla Bank)

15 Cemetery Road, Isla Bank

Centre Hill (Mossburn)

20 Cemetery Road


1838 South Hillend Dipton Road


5 Scenic Reserve Road

Halfmoon Bay

(Stewart Island)

13 Mapau Road

Horseshoe Bay

(Stewart Island)

16 Horseshoe Point Road


14 Lumsden Riversdale Highway (SH 94)


(Te Anau)

229 Whitestone Road


117 Mokoreta Tahakopa Road



18 Bayswater Road



36 Knutsford Road


93 Riverton Otautau Road

Tararua Acre

237 Waipapa Otara Road



22 Nightcaps Ohai Highway

Wallacetown (New)

4 Ailsa Street

Wallacetown (Old)

24 Cumnock Street



25 Devereux Road



2693 Dipton Winton Highway


4 Woodlands Cemetery Road

Wreys Bush

212 Durham Street


373 Mimihau School Road