Inspection types

When your application is processed, the building control officer will determine what inspections are necessary. Each inspection will be identified and attached to your building consent (Form 5).

Typical inspections may include but are not limited to:

  • Siting
  • foundations
  • concrete masonry
  • concrete floor slab
  • pre-cladding
  • skeleton
  • cladding
  • pool fencing
  • fireplaces
  • pre-line building/plumbing
  • post-lining
  • drainage and a final.

In some cases, inspections will require two building control officers to undertake the inspection.

Note: Non-standard inspection types will be noted on the inspection list for your consent.

Specialist inspections

Sometimes it is necessary for specialists to conduct inspections in addition to the inspections carried out by the BCA. If a specialist inspection is necessary, you will be advised before the consent is issued. Generally, these inspections are necessary to confirm ground stability, specific design by a Registered Engineer (CPeng), for elements that cannot be inspected by the BCA or where the building work is outside the current competency of the BCA.

Ensuring inspections take place

It is the owner’s responsibility to ensure that the BCA is contacted at the appropriate times to undertake the required inspections issued with the consent. Please ensure you read inspection requirements and are familiar with them before commencing work. If in doubt, please ask. Missed inspections may mean that a Code Compliance Certificate (CCC) is unable to be issued. If you have missed a required inspection throughout the build, please contact us as soon as possible.